Article
Social Media Management Software for Colleges and Universities: 10 Tools Compared

Picking a social media tool for a university is not the same problem as picking one for a company, and the difference is not the features.
Count the accounts posting in your institution's name and the number comes back higher than anyone guessed. Admissions, athletics, alumni, the library, every college, the counselling centre, the student newspaper, and a long tail of departments. The people behind them are a handful of full time communications staff, a much larger group of departmental coordinators who post a couple of times a month, a rotating cast of student workers who graduate every May, and a set of directors whose entire involvement is clicking approve.
Then you open a pricing page and it says $299 per seat per month.
That gap is why the comparison below spends as much time on pricing models as on features. We looked at ten tools, and the thing that separates them for a university is not which one has the better calendar. It is what the price is charged against, and what that does to the bill as more of the campus comes into the system.
A note on what is in here. Every price is the published list price with the date we checked it and a link to the page. Where a vendor does not publish pricing we say so rather than estimating. Where something could not be verified, that is stated too. Every figure is list price, and a multi college institution should not expect to pay it, so the ratios between these tools matter more than the absolute numbers.
Here are the ten, grouped by how they earned a place on the list. The side by side tables and the section on what this costs a campus follow underneath them.
Higher education social media tools & schedulers
This group has one member. Search for social media tools for higher education and you will get a long list of results. Apply a strict test, built for colleges rather than a generalist with a landing page, and a full management platform rather than a point solution or a consultancy, and one is left.
1. Reach
We build Reach, so weigh this section accordingly.
It is higher education only, and that shows in what it tracks. Reach monitors more than 10,000 higher education accounts, so research and benchmarking run against the sector rather than against a short list of competitors somebody added by hand. Peer cohorts are built from IPEDS institutional data joined to live social metrics, so an institution is measured against schools genuinely like it. Editor seats are free and unlimited, so contributors and approvers do not add to the bill. Research Only is $99 per seat per month billed annually and Standard is $199.
Takeovers run on temporary posting access with an approval workflow and an expiry date, so a student contributor never needs the account password and their access ends on its own rather than when somebody remembers to remove it.
Reach generates alt text with AI, which several tools now do. It also has a team level policy that blocks publishing an image with no alt text. Video is exempt and the policy is opt in per team. The generation is common. The gate is the part we did not find anywhere else.
What it does not do. Listening is narrower than the enterprise suites. If the requirement is broad social listening across the open web, the kind a communications office wants sitting behind a crisis plan, it is not as deep. And MeetYourClass is a much smaller company than Hootsuite or Sprout, which a procurement office may weigh. The trade runs the other way on the roadmap. We build for one sector, so a request from a campus communications director reaches the people who decide what gets built rather than joining a queue behind eleven other industries.
Best for an institution that needs more people in the system than its budget allows, a small team needing capabilities to expedite content creation, or one working against an accessibility deadline.
The generalists
Eight social media schedulers and management platforms built for businesses and agencies. Most campuses will shortlist at least one, and a procurement office will recognise the names. They are ordered by how the pricing model holds up as an institution adds people and accounts, which is a different question from which product is better.
2. Sprout Social
Sprout is the expensive option here, priced for a corporate marketing team.
Standard is $199 per seat per month billed annually, Professional is $299, which is $3,588 a year for every person you add, and Advanced is $399. There is no free or reduced seat class published anywhere. Sprout has a read only role and does not publish a price for it, so the working assumption has to be that someone who only looks at a dashboard costs what a full user costs.
The product is strong. Permissions are granular, with separate read only, can reply, needs approval and approve posts roles. Accessibility is the best documented here, tested against WCAG 2.2 AA with a VPAT available through their trust centre, and AI Assist drafts alt text.
Fits a well funded institution that can afford to limit who gets access. Gets expensive quickly if the list of people who need it grows.
3. Hootsuite
Hootsuite has the deepest higher education presence in this group, with a long solution page on campus operations and a list of institutions willing to be named on it. If you want to call a peer who uses the product, this is the easiest one.
The issue is where approvals sit. Team review and approval is an Advanced feature at $399 per user per month, or $4,788 a year per seat. Approvals are usually the reason central communications wants a platform at all, so the feature that justifies the purchase sits on the tier that is hardest to buy at scale.
Two details worth knowing before a demo. Hootsuite's own documentation lists alt text support for X, Facebook and LinkedIn, with no mention of Instagram or TikTok. And their accessibility page references five VPATs across web, blog, platform, iOS and Android without stating a WCAG version or conformance level.
Fits an institution that wants the longest track record and a peer to call. Harder to justify if approvals matter and the Advanced tier is out of reach.
4. Buffer
Buffer prices per channel rather than per seat. The Team plan is $10 a channel a month and includes unlimited users, so the bill tracks the accounts you connect and not the people using them. Adding a department costs the price of its channels.
Analytics and listening are thinner than Sprout or Hootsuite. Buffer publishes no accessibility statement, no VPAT and no WCAG claim we could find, which at a state institution can end an evaluation before price comes up.
Buffer has a higher education landing page with the right language about governance and permissions, and no named university customers or case studies on it.
Fits a campus that wants everyone in one system without counting heads.
5. HeyOrca
HeyOrca is built for agencies and the structure follows from that. You buy calendars rather than seats, at $59 or $149 a month each, every calendar holds ten social accounts, and a calendar stands in for a client.
Every paid plan includes unlimited free users and approvals sit on every tier, including the free one. There is a volume discount at five or more calendars.
The agency model is also where it strains for a university. One institution is not a dozen clients, so ten accounts to a calendar means splitting a campus into groups that match no org chart, and reporting across those groups is not what the product is for. There is no higher education page, no named institutional customers and no accessibility documentation we could find.
Fits a campus that wants approvals without paying a top tier for them and can work within the calendar structure.
6. Loomly
Loomly's Beyond plan is $249 a month billed annually, which is $2,988 a year for unlimited users, with approval workflows on every tier rather than only the top one and custom roles at the top.
Two things limit it. The account ceiling is 60 with no published overage rate, so an institution past that ceiling is into an enterprise quote and the published price stops applying. And there is no accessibility documentation of any kind, no statement, no VPAT, no WCAG claim, not even documented alt text support.
Fits a smaller institution under sixty accounts. The published price stops meaning much above that.
7. Agorapulse
Agorapulse charges on two axes at once. Users are $79 to $149 each per month billed annually with no volume discount, and every plan includes ten social profiles, with more sold as an add on whose price is not published. Both numbers grow as an institution brings more of the campus in.
Multi step approval, which is what a campus with unit level and central review needs, sits on the Custom plan. Simple approvals start on Professional.
Fits a single department with a handful of accounts. The two axes compound at campus scale.
8. Later
Later caps its published plans at 48 social profiles, with no enterprise tier and no overage rate above it. Additional users are inexpensive at roughly $45 a year, which would matter more if the profile ceiling were not where it is.
List price on Scale works out around $110 a month, though the site is running a promotion and our figure is arithmetic from their stated discount rather than a published number. Alt text is documented for Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Instagram, Instagram on desktop only, and is not available for TikTok. There is no higher education page and no education case studies.
Fits a single account or a small program.
9. Sprinklr
Sprinklr has shipped a named higher education product line rather than a landing page, announced through their own newsroom and backed by an industry page and university case studies. The investment in the vertical is real.
The pricing is not published at all. No tier, no per seat rate, no self serve option, and their pricing URL returns a 404, so the self serve tier they used to run is gone. Third party blogs quote figures from $50,000 a year to $4,700 per user per year with no vendor sourcing, and we are not going to reprint them. Nothing is published about seat models, account limits or approval workflows either.
Fits a large system with a procurement team and a long timeline. Everything is quote time.
Built for local government
One more category turns up in most campus evaluations. These are built for city and county government, and universities end up in the customer base by adjacency rather than by design. Worth knowing what you are looking at before you shortlist one.
10. Social News Desk, now CivAll
Social News Desk started in 2010 selling to TV newsrooms, moved into government and education in 2022, and in 2026 relaunched the stack as CivAll, announced at a government social media conference as one platform for government websites, social media and compliance. Stated traction is 200 plus government organisations.
The platform covers publishing, monitoring and archiving together, and the archiving captures posts, comments and reactions including content that was later deleted, with exports for records requests.
Published pricing is inconsistent. The plan tiles show $99 and $199 a month while the FAQ below them says plans start at $299 and run to $399, so treat any of it as the start of a quote rather than a price.
Fits an institution whose requirements line up with a city or county buyer. The product naming and the roadmap both point at government.
The comparison
List pricing as published on 21 September 2026. Annual billing where both are offered.
Tool | Pricing model | Published price | Users included | Accounts included | Approvals on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Reach | Per seat, editors free | $99 to $199 seat/mo | Unlimited free editor seats | Not capped | All plans |
Sprout Social | Per seat | $199 to $399 seat/mo | Per seat | Unlimited from Professional | Standard up |
Hootsuite | Per seat | $99 to $399 seat/mo | Per seat | Unlimited from Professional | Advanced only, $399 |
Buffer | Per channel | $10 channel/mo | Unlimited | Per channel purchased | Team plan |
HeyOrca | Per calendar | $59 to $149 calendar/mo | Unlimited | 10 per calendar | All plans, free tier included |
Loomly | Per plan | $249/mo for 60 accounts | Unlimited | 60, then Enterprise | All plans |
Agorapulse | Per user and per profile | $79 to $149 user/mo | Per user | 10 per plan, add ons unpublished | Pro up, multi step on Custom |
Later | Per plan | ~$110/mo at list | 4, extras ~$5/mo | 48 maximum | Growth up |
Sprinklr | Quote only | Not published, /pricing returns 404 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Social News Desk | Per plan | $99 to $199, page contradicts itself | 2 on stated tiers | Not stated | Included |
And the two columns that decide a public institution's shortlist, which no other comparison includes at all.
Tool | Accessibility documentation | Enforces alt text | Takeover tooling | Adding the rest of campus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Reach | WCAG 2.2 AA, VPAT on request | Yes, team policy blocks publish | Yes, timed access with approval | Bulk discounts + free unlimited editor seats |
Sprout Social | WCAG 2.2 AA, VPAT on request | No, but AI Assist drafts it | No, how to guide only | Full price per seat |
Hootsuite | 5 VPATs claimed, no WCAG level stated | No, alt text limited to X, Facebook, LinkedIn | No, how to guide only | Full price per seat, approvals on the top tier |
Buffer | None found | No | None found | Price of the channels, users unlimited |
HeyOrca | None found | No | None found | Price of the calendars, users unlimited |
Loomly | None found | No | None found | Included to 60 accounts, then a quote |
Agorapulse | None found | No | None found | Seats and profiles both |
Later | None found | No, and none on TikTok | None found | Not possible above 48 profiles |
Sprinklr | Webpage only, not the product | Not stated | Not stated | Not published |
Social News Desk | None found | No | None found | Not published |
Two things to read off that second table before anything else.
Six of the ten publish no accessibility documentation at all, and a seventh publishes a statement about its website rather than its product. If your procurement office requires an accessibility conformance report, and most public university procurement offices now do, that is the shortlist cut before you have discussed a single feature.
Almost nobody enforces alt text. There are three tiers here and vendors blur them. Supporting alt text means there is a field you can type into. Generating it means AI drafts one for you, which several tools now do and Sprout documents properly. Enforcing it means the post does not go out without it. Across ten tools we found plenty of fields, a handful of generators and one team level policy that blocks publishing.
What this actually costs a campus
Every tool on this page is affordable for the team that goes looking for one. A central communications office is a small group of people running the institution's flagship accounts, and at that size the pricing model barely registers. Per seat, per channel or per plan, the invoice lands in the same range and it is not what decides the purchase.
The bill arrives at the second stage, and the second stage is governance. At some point somebody asks how many accounts are posting in the institution's name. The answer is always higher than the room expected, and most of them are run by people who do not work in communications. The job changes from running the main accounts to having some visibility over all of them, and that is when the pricing model stops being a detail and becomes the constraint.
Worth saying plainly. Nobody centrally manages every account on a campus and nobody is trying to. What you are buying at the second stage is oversight. The department keeps posting. You want to see it, approve it where it matters, and report on it alongside everything else.
So the only question to ask of a price is what it multiplies by.
Tool | The price multiplies by | What that means when departments come in |
|---|---|---|
Reach | Paid seats only | Editor seats are free and unlimited, so contributors and approvers add nothing |
HeyOrca | Calendars | Unlimited free users, but accounts are grouped ten to a calendar |
Buffer | Channels | Unlimited users, so the cost tracks accounts and never people |
Loomly | The plan, up to a ceiling | Unlimited users until the account cap, then an enterprise quote |
Social News Desk | The plan | Stated tiers are small and campus scale is a quote |
Sprout Social | Seats | Every contributor, approver and viewer is a full price seat |
Hootsuite | Seats | Same, and approvals exist only on the most expensive tier |
Agorapulse | Seats and profiles | Both axes grow at once |
Later | The plan, up to a hard ceiling | Low account cap with no tier above it |
Sprinklr | Unknown | Nothing published on seats, accounts or approvals |
Read that from the bottom up. The tools that multiply by seats are the ones where governance gets expensive, because the people you add at the second stage are precisely the ones who will use the tool least. A department coordinator posting twice a month and a director who only ever clicks approve cost the same as your most experienced social media manager. The tools that multiply by accounts, or by nothing at all, turn bringing a department in back into a decision about oversight rather than a decision about budget.
Four ways per seat pricing specifically punishes a university
The approver tax. Some of your most important users will never publish anything. A dean's comms lead, a Title IX reviewer, an athletics director who signs off. Hootsuite puts approval workflows on Advanced at $4,788 per seat per year. Agorapulse puts multi step approvals on Custom. You pay the top rate for people whose entire job in the tool is one click.
The read only tax. A vice president who wants to look at a dashboard once a month costs the same as a full time social media manager at most vendors here. Buffer, Loomly, HeyOrca and Reach are the ones that publish a model where that person is free.
The seasonal contributor tax. Annual per seat contracts do not flex to a fourteen week student worker. You either buy the seat for twelve months or you lock them out.
And then the rationing, which is the real damage. You can watch this happen in public. Arizona State states its Hootsuite Enterprise licences are limited and reserved for core business units and top level colleges. Michigan gates Sprout access behind qualification requirements, and five large units underwrote the contract so other departments could buy in at a discount.
Those are two of the best resourced universities in the country limiting seats. So a per seat model does not only cost an institution more. It decides how many people can be inside the system at all, and the departments outside it keep posting either way.
The rest of the stack
No campus runs on a management platform alone, and the tools below are the ones already open on everybody's second monitor. None of them schedule or approve anything, which is why they are not in the comparison, but they are in the budget and they are worth naming.
Design. Canva is the default and it shows up on almost every list of social media tools for higher education, despite not managing social at all. Worth knowing how the free tiers actually work, because Canva for Education is K12 only and Canva for Nonprofits is 501(c)(3), which means most public universities are buying Teams seats at list price. Adobe Express is the alternative if you already have a Creative Cloud agreement, which most institutions do.
Video editing. CapCut for short form, which is what the students making your TikToks already use, and Premiere or Final Cut for anything longer. This is the one line in the stack where student workers usually arrive with more capability than the software you bought them.
Link in bio. Linktree is the default, but several of the tools on this page include one, so check what you already have before buying a separate subscription. Later has Linkin.bio, Buffer has Start Page, and Reach includes branded bio pages on its Standard plan. The case for a page your own web team hosts is that the click data stays in your analytics rather than a vendor's dashboard.
Somewhere to keep photos. The asset library is the quiet failure point on a decentralised campus. Departments need access to approved photography, and when they do not have it they use whatever is on their phone. Several platforms on this page include a media library, so check what you already have before paying for storage separately. Reach includes one with 100 GB on every plan.
UTM tagging. Free, tedious, and the only reason you will ever be able to say what social contributed. Agree a naming convention centrally, before every account on campus invents its own.
The native tools. Meta Business Suite, TikTok's own analytics and LinkedIn page analytics are free and much better than they were three years ago. For one department running a few accounts, that plus a shared calendar is a legitimate stack.
Four things most of the category does not do
None of these will come up in a demo. All four are worth raising yourself.
Enrollment attribution. Most tools here stop at engagement metrics. Passing social activity through to an applicant record in Slate, Salesforce or Banner is not something the generalists attempt, so claims about social driving enrollment usually rest on inference. Reach passes follower, comment and direct message activity into the enrollment CRM, which we cover in how Reach connects to enrollment CRMs.
Student takeovers and worker turnover. Takeovers are one of the most reliable formats in higher education and the riskiest to administer, because the usual method is handing a student the account password and hoping it gets changed afterwards. The category treats this as a content topic rather than a product problem. Hootsuite and Sprout both publish guides on how to run a takeover, universities publish their own policy documents for it, and no tool in this comparison ships software that grants timed posting access and takes it back. The same gap covers student workers generally, who arrive in September and leave in May with no onboarding or offboarding flow built around an academic year.
Accessibility as a default. Six of the ten publish no accessibility documentation at all, and most of the rest support alt text without ever requiring it. Universities are legally obliged to be accessible and are buying tools that treat it as optional.
Governance at campus scale. Approval workflows exist across the category, but they are modelled on an agency reviewing work for a few clients, and the per seat pricing underneath them limits how much of an institution can be inside the system at all.
Two things public institutions have to check that private ones do not
Records retention. Social posts and comments are public records in most states, and content somebody deleted is still discoverable. Coverage varies widely across these tools and very little of it is described on a pricing page, so this belongs in the written questions you send a vendor rather than in an assumption either way. Ask what is captured, how long it is held, whether deleted content is included, and what an export looks like when your records officer needs one.
Accessibility, on a deadline that is now dated. The Department of Justice's Title II rule requires the web content and mobile apps of state and local government entities, public universities included, to meet WCAG 2.1 Level AA. DOJ extended the compliance dates in April 2026, so most institutions are now working toward 26 April 2027 and smaller entities toward 26 April 2028. The rule reaches content a public entity makes available through contractual or licensing arrangements, which describes a social media management platform and everything published through it. Half the tools on this page publish nothing at all on accessibility, so ask for the conformance report while you are still building the shortlist rather than after.
The questions that actually decide this
None of these are answered on a pricing page. Send them to every vendor on your shortlist and ask for the answers in writing.
What does a read only or approver seat cost, and is there one at all
What happens at account 121, and what is the overage rate
Which tier includes multi step approval, and what does that tier cost per seat
Send the accessibility conformance report itself, with the WCAG version and conformance level stated
Which platforms support alt text, and can the tool require it before a post goes out
What is covered for archiving and records requests, and what needs a second product
What happens to student worker accounts at the end of an academic year
If we start with our central accounts and add departments later, what changes on the invoice
Then price the whole org chart rather than the comms team. Count the approvers and the people who only look, because that is where the difference between a reasonable contract and an unaffordable one lives.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best social media management software for higher education?
While we believe Reach is overall the best fit for higher ed workflows, collaboration, benchmarks, and unique needs. Ultimately, there is no single answer, because the deciding variable is how your campus is staffed rather than which product has the better calendar. A campus with a small central team and a few accounts is well served by almost anything on this list. A campus with a hundred plus accounts and dozens of occasional contributors is choosing between a per channel model like Buffer, a higher ed specific tool like Reach, and rationing seats on Sprout or Hootsuite.
How much should a university expect to pay?
Less than the list prices suggest, and far more dependent on the pricing model than on the vendor. Two institutions of the same size routinely pay very different amounts for equivalent software, because one is buying a seat for everyone who needs access while the other is buying accounts or a flat plan. Price your own org chart against the models in the table above, and if you are a public institution budget separately for archiving.
Can one tool handle publishing and records retention?
It depends on the vendor and it is changing. Some platforms capture and retain content directly, others expect you to run a separate archiving product alongside them. Ask each vendor on your shortlist what they capture, how long they hold it and how an export works, and get the answer in writing before you assume you need a second contract.
Does a university need a full management platform or just a social media scheduler?
A single department running a few accounts can do the job with a scheduler and a shared calendar. Scheduling is the part every tool on this page does competently, so it is rarely what decides anything. The reason institutions move to a management platform is everything around the scheduling, which means approvals before a post goes out, a record of who published what, alt text and accessibility controls, and reporting that covers more than one account at a time.
How many social media accounts does a typical university have?
More than anyone expects. A mid sized institution with a hundred to a hundred and fifty official accounts is normal once you count departments, colleges, athletics, alumni, libraries and student services. The first step in any evaluation is an audit, because the account count sets the price on half the tools here.
Does Reach replace Hootsuite or Sprout?
For publishing, approvals and analytics, yes, and that is the comparison we would ask you to make. If you want to see what the reporting looks like against a real peer cohort, that is what Reach is built to do.
Before you sit through a demo
Price the org chart, not the comms team. The number that decides this is how many people need to be inside the system once departments, approvers and student workers are counted, and that number is usually settled long after the contract is signed.
We built Reach for that shape of problem, with unlimited free editor seats, peer benchmarking on IPEDS data, and an alt text policy that stops a post rather than reminding you about it. If you want to see the numbers behind this page, the higher education social media benchmarks come from the same dataset, and our recent blog on 20 social media ideas for colleges shows what the top performing accounts are actually posting.
Book a walkthrough if you want to learn what a team with only higher education in mind can do for your institution.


